School of Computing

Feedback and communication

Weekly emails

Every week, students are emailed with a round up of events, job opportunities and anything else of interest. Feedback from our students told us that they preferred one email rather than lots forwarded on. The emails can also be found below.

People in the school

The School of Computing has many staff and research students. The easiest way to find someone is on the people page. Here you will find their room number, email and role.

Key individuals

It is important to know key individuals within the School at your campus, below you can find out who these are.

Title Name Email
Head of School Professor Richard Jones R.E.Jones@kent.ac.uk
Director of Studies Janet Carter J.E.Carter@kent.ac.uk
Chair Staff-Student Liaison Colin Johnson C.G.Johnson@kent.ac.uk
Disciplinary Officer Janet Carter J.E.Carter@kent.ac.uk
Industrial Placement Co-ordinator Sian Robson/Katie Van Sanden csplacements@kent.ac.uk
Exams Officer Dr Rogerio de Lemos R.Delemos@kent.ac.uk
back to top
Title Name Email
Head of School Professor Richard Jones R.E.Jones@kent.ac.uk
Head of School (Medway) Dr Ian McLoughlin I.V.McLoughlin@kent.ac.uk
Director of Studies Roger Sutton C.R.Sutton@kent.ac.uk
Chair Staff-Student Liaison Roger Sutton C.R.Sutton@kent.ac.uk
Senior Tutor Dr Yang He Y.He@kent.ac.uk
Disciplinary Officer Janet Carter J.E.Carter@kent.ac.uk
Administrator Janine Jarvis J.G.Jarvis@kent.ac.uk
Industrial Placement Co-ordinator Sian Robson/Katie Van Sanden csplacements@kent.ac.uk
Exams Officer Dr Rogerio de Lemos R.Delemos@kent.ac.uk
Medway College Master Jane Glew J.P.Glew@kent.ac.uk
back to top
Title Name Email
Director of Graduate Studies (Taught) Dr Peter Kenny P.G.Kenny@kent.ac.uk
Senior Tutor Janet Carter J.E.Carter@kent.ac.uk
Admissions Officer David Barnes D.J.Barnes@kent.ac.uk
Taught Postgraduate Student Support Assistant Lucy Ashbey L.Ashby@kent.ac.uk
Director: MSc Advanced Computer Science Professor Alex Freitas A.A.Freitas@kent.ac.uk
Director:  MSc Advanced Computer Science (Computational Intelligence) Professor Alex Freitas A.A.Freitas@kent.ac.uk
Director: MSc Advanced Software Development Professor Alex Freitas A.A.Freitas@kent.ac.uk
Director: MSc Computer Security Gerald Tripp G.E.W.Tripp@kent.ac.uk
Director: MSc Computer Science Dr Peter Kenny P.G.Kenny@kent.ac.uk
Director: MSc Computing and Entrepreneurship Dr John Crawford J.S.Crawford@kent.ac.uk
Director: MSc IT Consultancy Dr John Crawford J.S.Crawford@kent.ac.uk
Director: MSc Networks and Security Gerald Tripp G.E.W.Tripp@kent.ac.uk
Director: International Masters and Pre-Masters Dr Julio Hernandez-Castro J.C.Hernandez-Castro@kent.ac.uk
Industrial Placement Co-ordinator Sian Robson/Katie Van Sanden csplacements@kent.ac.uk
Staff-student liaison Dr Colin Johnson C.G.Johnson@kent.ac.uk
back to top
Title Name Email
Dean of the Graduate School Professor Paul Allain P.A.Allain@kent.ac.uk
Graduate School Administration Manager Suzie Morris S.M.Morris@kent.ac.uk
Director of Research & Enterprise Dr Peter Rodgers P.J.Rodgers@kent.ac.uk
Head of Group: PLAS Professor Andy King A.M.King@kent.ac.uk
Head of Group: Security Professor Shujun Li S.J.Li@kent.ac.uk
Head of Group: Computational Intelligence Professor Alex Freitas A.A.Freitas@kent.ac.uk
Head of Group: Computing Education Professor Sally Fincher S.A.Fincher@kent.ac.uk
Head of Group: Future Computing Professor Frank Wang F.Z.Wang@kent.ac.uk Research Student Support Co-ordinator Meher Basit M.Basit@kent.ac.uk
back to top

Staff student liaison

Within the school staff liaise with students in order to get feedback on teaching and learning and other issues as they arise. For more information on this please see the staff student liaison page.

Student forums

The student forums allow you to talk with other students and staff about a variety of topics including coding, theory, general discussion and projects.

Kent Internet Relay Chat (IRC)

The Kent IRC is an instant messaging platform where you can chat and discuss with other students. You can use the web version to access the messaging service (you will be prompted for your Kent login credentials). If you require assistance using the IRC either contact cs-syshelp or go to our support page.

Suggestions

If you have any suggestions or reason to make a complaint you can either email cs-suggestions@kent.ac.uk or use the form (School of Computing students only) and someone will respond as soon as they can. For more information on student feedback options please see student feedback mechanisms.


RT @Jason_kitc: Interested in IT Consultancy as a final year option? Check out our video for stage 2 @UniKentComp students and @UniKentComp

Posted 2 days ago

Congratulations to Paul Crawford who won a School of Computing hoodie for completing a survey about placements. You… https://t.co/kBrQII5FjF

Posted 3 days ago

RT @nigewillson: LinkedIns Fastest-Growing Jobs Today Are In Data Science & Machine Learning https://t.co/oezapNt8Tb #ml #datascience #ai h…

Posted 3 days ago

School of Computing, University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NF

Enquiries: +44 (0)1227 824180 or contact us.

Last Updated: 20/11/2017